A
| America's Newspapers (Newsbank) |  |
| Full-text articles from leading national newspapers including regional newspapers — Thousand Oaks Star and the Daily News. | |
| Ancestry Library Edition |  |
| Genealogy resource | search tips |
| Archives Unbound | |
| Archives Unbound presents digital content from: "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California, 1867-1910"; and "Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927." | search tips |
| Artemis: Literary Resources | |
| Search Dictionary of Literature Biography, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Literary Criticism Online, Something About the Author Online, Twayne's Authors Series and Scribner Writers Series all at once to access primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. | Tutorial |
| Auto Repair Reference Center | |
| Automotive repair information, dating back to 1945. | |
B
| Biography in Context (Gale) | |
|
| More than 440,000 biographies of authors, scientists, musicians, world leaders... | ||
| BookFlix | |
|
| Classic video storybooks for beginning readers...with read-aloud, educational games and activities. | ||
| BookNews | |
|
| Select from 21 monthly newsletters to receive via email or RSS feeds. | ||
| BrainFuse Adult Learning Center | |
|
| Great resource for life-long learners with live one-on-one help on taking the GED, Microsoft Office Suite and preparing for the US Citizenship Test. Submit your resume online to have your resume critiqued and edited within 24 hours. | ||
| BrainFuse HelpNow! | |
|
| Online tutor service available daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Grade 3 and up). | ||
| Britannica Annals of American History | |
|
| American history from 1493 to the present including original speeches, poems, interviews and writings of more than 1,500 influential authors in multiple formats. Topics include American democracy, education, business and labor, and the arts. | ||
| Britannica Online | |
|
| See Encyclopedia Britannica Online | ||
| Business Insights: Essentials | |
|
| 15 min. delayed stock reporting, financial analyst reports, market research reports, including public, private and international companies as well as extensive industry information with S.W.O.T. Analysis. | search tips | |
C
| Career Cruising | |
| Online English/Spanish career research and educational planning tool. Features multimedia presentations detailing hundreds of careers. | |
| Chilton Auto Repair Manual | |
| Model coverage includes 360 models from 2013 and 231 models from 2014, with a total of more than 17,000 models covered in Chilton's, dating back to 1940. (Best view in IE and Chrome) |
|
| Country Studies |  |
| Published by Library of Congress, Country Studies offers previously published Country Studies/Area Handbooks and more up-to-date Country Profiles on select countries. This series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. | |
| Credo Reference | |
| Includes full-text and cross-reference access to hundreds of reference works and articles. Credo is a general reference resource covering every major subject including art, business, geography, history and more. Topic pages are good starting points for any research project. |
|
D
| Dictionary of Literary Biography | |
| Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Dorling Kindersley (DK) eBooks | |
| DK illustrated reference ebooks for adults and children on on a virtual bookshelf. | |
E
| Easy ESL | |
| An online video learning environment for English as a Second Language learners with worksheets, teacher guides, quizzes, tests and supplemental materials. | |
| eLibrary | |
| Books, magazines, pictures, maps audio/video, and transcripts. | search tips |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online | |
| The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals. | |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online for Kids | |
| For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus. | |
| Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues | |
| Focus on information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering, and explains the interrelationships of these issues in easily understood terms. | |
F
| Foundation Center (Available only at Grant R. Brimhall Library. See a librarian for access.) | |
| Grants and foundations | search tips |
G
| Gale Courses (formerly Learn4Life) | |
| Gale Courses offers a wide range of interactive courses that can be taken entirely over the Internet. All courses are free and led by expert instructors. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. (5 free courses per calendar year) | |
| Gale Directory Library | |
| Provides access to a variety of business related reference books electronically, such as: Ward's Business Directory, Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans, Business Rankings Annual and Market Share Reporter. | Guided Tour |
| Gale Educational and Homework Gateway | |
| The Educational and Homework Gateway is a collection of online databases from a variety of publishers and selected electronic books (eBooks) drawn from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. | |
| Gale Genealogy Connect | |
| Gale Genealogy Connect features a wide range of comprehensive references and is powered by authoritative information from Genealogical.com. | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. | search tips |
| General OneFile (Gale) | |
| Full-text articles from magazines, journals and scholarly publications. | search tips |
H
| Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module | |
| Consumer health reference covering topics such as nutrition and medical tests, including access to PDR Family Guide to Prescription Drugs and PDR for Herbal Medicines. | Guided Tour |
| HeritageQuest Online | |
| Genealogy collection of family and local histories. | search tips |
| Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center | |
| Offers "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby-enthusiast. Full text from the leading hobby and craft magazines, including Bead & Button, Birder's World, Creative Knitting, FineScale Modeler, PaperWorks, Scrapbooking, Quilter's World, and many more. | search tips |
| Home Improvement Reference Center | |
| Step-by-step instructions for thousands of projects in the areas of plumbing, outdoor, woodworking, electrical, and decorating are provided in high-quality PDF files. Full-text access to major home improvement magazines and videos supplement the step-by-step project instructions. | search tips |
| Homework Help | |
| See BrainFuse HelpNow! | |
J
| Job & Career Accelerator | |
| Access current job listings in the community. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and more. | |
| JobNow | |
| Live Job Coaching, Resume Assistance, and more... Live JobNow Coaches are available every day of the week, including weekends, from 1:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. | FAQ |
L
| LearningExpress Library | |
| Citizenship, high school entrance exam (GED), AP exams, job skills, resume and interview skills... also includes computer training modules on Office suites and Win/Mac Operating systems training. | Forgot password |
| Legal Information Reference Center | |
| Consumer legal reference books from NOLO Press, including printable legal forms. | search tips |
| Literature Criticism Online | |
| Include 3 reference series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Literature Resource Center | |
| Literary criticisms, literary biographies. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| LitFinder | |
| Full-text poems, short stories, with explanations and biographies. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Local News Index | |
| Local newspapers indexed by Thousand Oaks Librarians, including obituaries. | |
| Los Angeles Times (1881- current) | |
| Full-text articles published in L.A. Times beginning 1881 to current. | search tips |
M
| Morningstar Investment Research Center | |
| Stock, mutual funds, company info, industry info... Investing for the Long Run - A free guide with strategies and solutions to help you shape up your personal finances. 119 pages [PDF] |
User's guide |
N
| New Book Alerts | |
| A free online email notification service that showcases the newest titles purchase by the library. | |
| NewsBank (see America's Newspapers) | |
| Full-text articles from leading national newspapers including regional newspapers -- Thousand Oaks Star and the Daily News | tutorial |
| Nolo Press (see Small Business Reference Center or Legal Information Reference Center) | |
| Small Business Reference Center and Legal Information Referece Center provides access to selected popular titles published by the Nolo Press. For specific titles, please search the library's catalog. | |
| Novelist | |
| Reading suggestions with summaries. | search tips |
| Novelist K-8 | |
| Reading suggestions for young readers. | search tips |
O
| OneClickdigital | |
| A new beta platform for downloadable audiobooks by Recorded Books, Inc., previously NetLibrary. Compatible with iPod and most media players. For details please visit Downloadable Digital Media page on the Library's web site. | |
| Online Book Clubs | |
| Join one or more book clubs and receive 5-minute selection from a chapter of a book each day, Monday through Friday. | |
| Opposing Viewpoints | |
| Full-text articles, including statistical charts, government data on social issues. | search tips |
| Overdrive | |
| Download free bestseller eBooks and eAudiobooks onto your computer, e-reader device or portable MP3 player, including iPods and iPads. | help guide |
P
| Powerspeak Languages | |
| Learn Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Mandarin, Japanese, Korean, Ingles (ESL), and Mandarin (ESL). | |
| Price It! Antiques and Collectibles | |
| Antiques prices based on GoAntiques.com database; including full-text articles on pottery, furniture, toys and other antiques. | search tips |
| Proquest Digital Microfilm | |
| Access to full-image content for Los Angeles Times from January 2008 to current. | |
R
| Reference USA | |
| Business and residential telephone directory and basic company information. | tutorial |
S
| Salem History | |
| Includes Decades series, Great Lives from History series, and Great Events from History. | |
| Science InContext | |
| Curriculum focused full-text articles on key topics, with ideas for science experiments | search tips |
| Scribner Writers Online Series | |
| Includes concise essays, citations, and biographical information. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Small Business Reference Center | |
| Provides up-to-date information on starting, operating and managing a business. Includes access to the popular NOLO Press business publications. | search tips |
| Smart Math | |
| Math learning database appropriate for ages 6-14 with topics ranging from counting exercises to algebra. Difficulty of questions asked is interactively based upon demonstrated skill level of student. | |
| Something About the Author Online | |
| Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Student Resources in Context | |
| History, Science, Literature, and other core subjects are covered in millions of periodical and newspaper articles, primary source entries, multimedia records, and other materials. | |
T
| Tax Forms & Publications - Federal |  |
| Tax forms and publications from the IRS website. | |
| Tax Forms & Publications - State | |
| California tax forms and publications. | |
| Teen Health & Wellness | |
| Self-help and research tool on teen health-related issues important to their well-being. | |
| Today's Science | |
| Full-text articles with photos and graphics. | search tips |
| Travel eBooks | |
| Travel eBooks grouped by region on a virtual bookshelf. | |
| Tuition Funding Sources (TFS) | |
| Advertising free online resources available to help students find scholarships and other forms of financial aid to help pay for a college education. TFS provides students with college admissions information, a career personality test, and detailed career information. | |
| TumbleBook Library | |
| An online collection of animated, talking picture books. | |
| Twayne's Authors Online Series | |
| Includes in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
U
| U.S. History In Context | |
| Access to media-rich content with full-text periodical articles and trusted primary and secondary sources covering the most-studied events, issues and current information related to U.S. History. | |
W
| World Book Early World of Learning | |
| A teaching tool for teachers or parents of preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades. The Early World of Learning uses narrated stories with word-by-word highlighting, interactive games, interactive reference material for beginners, and more to help young learners build vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency. | tutorial |
| World Book Discover | |
| Offers refgerence articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, multimedia, and interactive video. This resource is designed for middle to high school english learners. | tutorial |
| World Book Online Reference Center | |
| All articles from the current 22-volume edition of the World Book Encyclopedia, including World Book Kids, World Book Student, World Book Advanced, and Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos. | tutorial |
| World Book InfoFinder | |
| Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school aged students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects. | tutorial |
| World Book Kids | |
| Dictionary, quick facts, atlas, activities, encyclopedia articles for elementary school children. | search tips |
| World History In Context | |
| Provides in-depth analysis, full-text periodical articles, reference works, primary documents, historical maps, atlases, video and audio selections; covering over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present. | |
Z
| Zinio | |
| Zinio offers full color, interactive digital magazines. Browse from a collection of popular titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limit to the number of magazines you can download. | |
Access Guide
Available from home. A Thousand Oaks Library card is required.
Available only in Library
Web Resources
