Education & Test Preparation
| General Education Resources | |
| BrainFuse HelpNow! |  |
| Online tutor service available daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Grade 3 and up) | |
| College Board Online |  |
| Access to information on college application process, SAT Practice Tests and tools for college planning. | |
| California Department of Education | |
| Standards, testing, accountability, grants... | |
| Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) | |
| Education research indexed from 1966 to the present, abstracts and full-text articles. | |
| Gale Educational and Homework Gateway | |
| The Educational and Homework Gateway is a collection of online databases from a variety of publishers and selected electronic books (eBooks) drawn from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. | search tips |
| General OneFile (Gale) | |
| Full-text access to company news and industry news | search tips |
| National Center for Educational Statistics | |
| A federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. | |
| Online Courses | |
| Codecademy | |
| Offers free courses on programming such as HTML, CSS, JavaScript, Ruby on Rails, jQuery, APIs, PHP and Python | |
| Coursera |  |
| Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for free. | |
| DigitalLearn.org | |
| An Institute of Museum and Library Services grant funded project by the Public Library Association, to create an online hub for digital literacy support and training including videos and printable handouts. A great complimentary resource to the Learning @ Your Library series. | |
| Easy ESL | |
| An online video learning environment for English as a Second Language learners with worksheets, teacher guides, quizzes, tests and supplemental materials. | |
| Gale Courses (formerly Learn4Life) | |
| Gale Courses offers a wide range of interactive courses that can be taken entirely over the Internet. All courses are free and led by expert instructors. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. (5 free courses per calendar year) | |
| GCF LearnFree.org | |
| GCFLearnFree.org provides free lessons and self-paced tutorials for MS office, reading, math, basic computer and Internet skills. A great complimentary resource to the Learning @ Your Library series. | |
| Khan Academy | |
| A non-profit organization provides free education for anyone anywhere with an extensive video library covering K-12 math, science, biology, chemistry and physics. It also includes topics such as finance and history. | |
| LearningExpress Library | |
| Citizenship, high school entrance exam (GED), AP exams, job skills, resume and interview skills, occupational tests... also includes computer training modules on Office suites and Win/Mac Operating systems training. | Forgot password? |
| MIT Open Courseware | |
| Access to free lecture notes, exams, and videos from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) reflects almost all the undergraduate and graduate subjects taught at MIT. | |
| Online Test Preparation | |
| BrainFuse HelpNow! | |
| Offers additional study resources such as with Skills Building, Writing Lab and Test Center. | |
| LearningExpress Library | |
| Citizenship, high school entrance exam (GED), AP exams, job skills, resume and interview skills, occupational tests... also includes computer training modules on Office suites and Win/Mac Operating systems training. | Forgot password? |
| Scholarship and Financial Aids | |
| Gale Directory Library | |
| Provides access to a variety of business related reference books electronically, such as: Ward's Business Directory, Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans, Business Rankings Annual and Market Share Reporter. | Guided Tour |
| Tuition Funding Sources (TFS) | |
| Advertising free online resources available to help students find scholarships and other forms of financial aid to help pay for a college education. TFS provides students with college admissions information, a career personality test, and detailed career information. | |
Research by Topic Index
Access Guide
Available from home. A Thousand Oaks Library card is required.
Available only in Library
Web Resources
