Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

eResources Status

Research & Online Resources: Science

The Thousand Oaks Library subscribes to a variety of highly specialized electronic databases.
All of these resources may be used in the library, and many can be accessed from home via the Internet.

Science

Science
Credo Reference Available everywhere with a library card
Includes full-text and cross-reference access to hundreds of reference works and articles. Credo is a general reference resource covering every major subject including art, business, geography, history and more. Topic pages are good starting points for any research project.  

Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
Focus on information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering, and explains the interrelationships of these issues in easily understood terms.

Available everywhere with a library card
Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages.  search tips

Curriculum focused full-text articles on key topics, with ideas for science experiments.  search tips

Recommended Web Resources
Internet Public Library is a public service organization and a learning/teaching environment with thousands of students and volunteer library and information science professionals involved.  

Recommended Web Resources
A gateway to 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies.  

Full-text articles with photos, graphics and bibliographies for middle school students through college.  search tips

Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects. tutorial

Access Guide

Available everywhere with a library card Available from home. A Thousand Oaks Library card is required.     

Available only in library Available only in Library    

Recommended Web Resources Web Resources

Library Catalog

Encore Search:

Advanced Search

Ask a Librarian

Facebook logo twitter_logo Pinterest Logo instagram_logo Youtube Logo
Grant R. Brimhall Library . 1401 E. Janss Road . Thousand Oaks, CA 91362 . (805) 449-2660
Newbury Park Branch Library . 2331 Borchard Road . Newbury Park, CA 91320 . (805) 498-2139