Biography & History
| Biography | |
| Biography in Context (Gale) |  |
| More than 440,000 biographies of authors, scientists, musicians, world leaders... | search tips |
| Dictionary of Literary Biography | |
| Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights. see Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| eLibrary | |
| Biography by professions, look under topics and select biography | search tips |
| eLibrary |  |
| Biography by professions, look under topics and select biography | search tips |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online | |
| The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals. | |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online for Kids | |
| For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus. | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. | search tips |
| Something About the Author Online | |
| Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. see Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| WorldBook Online Reference Center | |
| Full-text biographical articles on famous people...check out World Book Kids | more info |
| History | |
| Archives Unbound | |
| Archives Unbound presents digital content from: "County and Regional Histories & Atlases: California, 1867-1910"; and "Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927." | |
| Britannica Annals of American History | |
| American history from 1493 to the present including original speeches, poems, interviews and writings of more than 1,500 influential authors in multiple formats. Topics include American democracy, education, business and labor, and the arts. | |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online | |
| The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals. | |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online for Kids | |
| For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus. | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text titles—from Gale and a host of premier publishing partners—within 15 subject areas for school age children all the way up to college level. Special features include: On-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. | search tips |
| Salem History | |
| Includes Decades series, Great Lives from History series, and Great Events from History. | |
| U.S. History In Context | |
| Access to primary and secondary sources from trusted reference titles and periodicals, and reliable multimedia news sources. | |
| World History In Context | |
| Offer primary and secondary sources covers over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present. | |
| WorldBook Online Reference Center | |
| All articles from the current 22-volume edition of the World Book Encyclopedia | tutorial |
| Local History | |
| Local History Collection | |
| Local history collection in the Thousand Oaks Library | |
| Local News Index | |
| Obituaries, index to local newspaper articles about the Conejo Valley | more info |
Research by Topic Index
Access Guide
Available from home. A Thousand Oaks Library card is required.
Available only in Library
Web Resources
