Homework Help
| Online Tutors & General Homework Help | |
| America's News (NewsBank) |  |
| Search local, state and national full-text articles on issues, events, business, government, health and more with over 1,400 news sources, newspapers, videos, newswires, and web-only content including the Daily News (10/1/85-Current), Ventura County Star (1997-Current), and USA Today (7/1/87-Current). | search tips |
| BrainFuse HelpNow! | |
| Online tutor service available daily from 1 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Kindergarten and up). | |
| Britannica Annals of American History | |
| American history from 1493 to the present including original speeches, poems, interviews and writings of more than 1,500 influential authors in multiple formats. Topics include American democracy, education, business and labor, and the arts. | |
| Dictionary of Literary Biography | |
| Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online | |
| The classic encyclopedia, recreated online with content including animation, sound files, video clips, daily updates, and content from current periodicals. | |
| Encyclopedia Britannica Online for Kids | |
| For students K-8, includes thousands of images, videos, and statistics to research virtually any topic. Other resources include research guides, learning activities for English & language arts, the sciences, the Social Sciences, timelines on various topics, and an online dictionary and thesaurus. | |
| Gale Courses (formerly Learn4Life) | |
| Gale Courses offers a wide range of interactive courses that can be taken entirely over the Internet. All courses are free and led by expert instructors. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. (5 free courses per calendar year) | |
| Gale Educational and Homework Gateway | |
| The Educational and Homework Gateway is a collection of online databases from a variety of publishers and selected electronic books (eBooks) drawn from the Gale Virtual Reference Library. | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. | search tips |
| LearningExpress Library | |
| Math, reading and writing skills building modules, GED preparation, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT practice exams, AP practice exams, and more... | Forgot password? |
| Smart Math | |
| Math learning database appropriate for ages 6-14 with topics ranging from counting exercises to algebra. Difficulty of questions asked is interactively based upon demonstrated skill level of student. | |
| Student Resources in Context | |
| History, Science, Literature, and other core subjects are covered in millions of periodical and newspaper articles, primary source entries, multimedia records, and other materials. | |
| World Book Discover | |
| Offers refgerence articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, multimedia, and interactive video. This resource is designed for middle to high school english learners. | tutorial |
| World Book Early World of Learning | |
| A teaching tool for teachers or parents of preschoolers and children in the early elementary grades. The Early World of Learning uses narrated stories with word-by-word highlighting, interactive games, interactive reference material for beginners, and more to help young learners build vocabulary, comprehension, phonics, and reading fluency. | tutorial |
| World Book InfoFinder | |
| Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school aged students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects. | tutorial |
| World Book Kids | |
| Dictionary, quick facts, atlas, activities, encyclopedia articles for elementary school children. | tutorial |
| World Book Online Reference Center | |
| All articles from the current 22-volume edition of the World Book Encyclopedia, including World Book Kids, World Book Student, World Book Advanced, and Encyclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos. | tutorial |
| Literature | |
| Artemis: Literary Resources |
|
| Search Dictionary of Literature Biography, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Literary Criticism Online, Something About the Author Online, Twayne's Authors Series and Scribner Writers Series all at once to access primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. | tutorial |
| Dictionary of Literary Biography | |
| Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Literature Criticism Online | |
| Include 3 reference series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Literature Resource Center | |
| Literary criticisms, literary biographies. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| LitFinder | |
| Full-text poems, short stories, with explanations and biographies. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Scribner Writers Online Series | |
| Provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Twayne's Authors Online Series | |
| Includes in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Science | |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. | search tips |
| Science InContext | |
| Curriculum focused full-text articles on key topics, with ideas for science experiments | search tips |
| Today's Science | |
| Full-text articles with photos and graphics on top news on sciences for middle school students through college | search tips |
| World Book InfoFinder (Science Projects) | |
| Designed to meet research needs of upper-elementary and middle school students. In addition to the complete World Book Encyclopedia, it also offers learning resources for educators, research tools and ideas for science projects. | tutorial |
| Social Issues | |
| America's News (NewsBank) | |
| Search local, state and national full-text articles on issues, events, business, government, health and more with over 1,400 news sources, newspapers, videos, newswires, and web-only content including the Daily News (10/1/85-Current), Ventura County Star (1997-Current), and USA Today (7/1/87-Current). | search tips |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. | search tips |
| Opposing Viewpoints | |
| Topic overviews designed to meet the research needs of students, supported with full-text articles from newspapers and magazines, statistical charts, government data, images, and links to reviewed websites | search tips |
Research by Topic Index
Access Guide
Available from home. A Thousand Oaks Library card is required.
Available only in Library
Web Resources
