Literature, Books and Reading
| General Literature Research | |
| Dictionary of Literary Biography |  |
| Comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics with profiles of more than 143, 000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers and playwrights. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library | |
| Offers authoritative full-text reference titles from Gale and other premier publishing partners. Special features include: on-demand machine-aided content translations into 14 languages and text-to-speech technology in 19 languages. |
search tips |
| General OneFile (Gale) | |
| Full-text articles from magazines, journal and scholarly publication. | search tips |
| Something About the Author Online | |
| Illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. See Artemis: Literary Resources |
search tips |
| Literary Criticism | |
| Artemis: Literary Resources |
|
| Search Dictionary of Literature Biography, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Literary Criticism Online, Something About the Author Online, Twayne's Authors Series and Scribner Writers Series all at once to access primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. | tutorial |
| Literature Criticism Online | |
| Include 3 reference series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Literature Resource Center | |
| Literary criticisms, literary biographies. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| LitFinder | |
| Full-text poems, short stories, with explanations and biographies. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Scribner Writers Online Series | |
| Provides original, scholar signed essays on the lives and works of authors from around the world from all time periods. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| Twayne's Authors Online Series | |
| Includes in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world within the context of the time period in which they lived. See Artemis: Literary Resources | search tips |
| eBooks | |
| OneClickdigital | |
| A new beta platform for downloadable audiobooks by Recorded Books, Inc., previously NetLibrary. Compatible with iPod and most media players. For details please visit Downloadable Digital Media page on the Library's web site. | |
| OverDrive | |
| Download free bestseller eBooks and eAudiobooks onto your computer, e-reader device or portable MP3 player, including iPods and iPads. | Quick Start Guide |
| Project Gutenberg |  |
| 30,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader | |
| TumbleBook Library | |
| An online collection of animated, talking picture books | |
| Reading Resources | |
| BookFlix | |
| Classic video storybooks for beginning readers...with read-aloud, educational games and activities | |
| BookNews | |
| Select from 21 monthly newsletters to receive via email or RSS feeds | |
| Bookspot.com | |
| Access booklists and reviews | |
| Internet Public Library eBooks | |
| A list of web sites to find public domain ebooks, images and eaudiobooks | |
| NoveList K-8 | |
| Find read-alikes, similar authors for young readers | search tips |
| New Book Alerts | |
| A free online email notification service that showcases the newest titles purchase by the library. | |
| NoveList | |
| Online tool for finding fiction by plot, read-alikes, similar authors, includes feature articles and reviews, and book discussion guides. | search tips |
| Online Book Clubs | |
| Join one or more book clubs and receive 5-minute selection from a chapter of a book each day, Monday through Friday. | |
| Online Books Page | |
| An index of free online texts in all languages, both general and specialized | |
| Reading Group Choices | |
| Look here for ideas of discussible books and discussion topics for your reading group | |
Research by Topic Index
Access Guide
Available from home. A Thousand Oaks Library card is required.
Available only in Library
Web Resources
